CS371P Spring 2021 Week 7 : Nhat Minh Nguyen

  1. What did you do this past week?

There was nothing much different from other weeks. Besides studying and doing assignments, I did cleaning my room and made some small changes to my room. I slightly changed the way the furniture was arranged in my room which inspired me to work. I also practiced piano again after a few months without touching it. I am trying to make a habit of spending at least 30 minutes a day practicing the piano.

2. What’s in your way?

There is still a lot of stuff in my OS class that I still don’t fully understand. I plan to spend the spring break catching up with the lesson.

3. If you read it, what did you think of the Open-Closed Principle?

I found much useful advice about doing object-oriented programming in this article. Reading this article also helps me remember about inheritance and polymorphism which I learned in Data Structure class. However, I do not have many chances to apply these concepts in programming. I found that doing projects in the CS371P class helps me practice this technique.

4. What was your experience with arrays, iterators, and algorithms? (this question will vary, week to week)

I feel comfortable with arrays before but Dr. Downing’s lecture about arrays taught me a lot more things about the relation between array and pointer. I have heard about iterators before but not using them explicitly a lot. I really like Dr.Downing‘s lecture about iterator. It helps me understand more detail about the type of iterators and their capabilities so that I can use them more efficiently in programming.

5. What made you happy this week?

Getting back to my normal life after a few days without electricity and water was the thing that made me the happiest of the week. I finished the second project on time which is much better comparing to the first project. Spring break is coming in a week so I will have time to visit my family. Although I do not have any plan for traveling far away I am thinking about going hiking someplace close to my home with my parent.